Sports updates

Sports updates- July-August 2016

Jebet won the race in the second-quickest time in history. She clocked a time of eight minutes 59.75 seconds, narrowly outside of Russian Gulnara Samitova-Galkina's world record of 08:58.16.
Great Britain’s Mark Cavendish won the silver and Lasse Norman Hansen of Denmark took the bronze in the event.
To win the title, he defeated Argentina's Juan Martin Del Potro in the final match held at the Olympic Tennis Centre in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. With the win, he retained the medal and became the first player to win two men's singles tennis gold medals in Olympics.
Wlodarczyk’s winning mark was 82.29m. China’s Wenxiu Zhang won the silver medal with a mark of 76.75m. Sophie Hitchon of Great Britain earned the bronze medal.
Bolt won the race in 9.81 seconds, followed by USA’s Justin Gatlin at 9.89 seconds and Canada’s Andre De Grasse at a personal-best 9.91 seconds.
To win the title, the top seed Dipika defeated eighth seed Mayar Hany of Egypt 10-12, 11-5, 11-6, 11-4 in the 40-minute final. For Dipika, this was the first title win in 2016.
With his victory in the Men's Singles event at the 2016 Rio Olympics, Long became the 5th player to win the three most important events in table tennis, i.e. the Olympics, World Championships and World Cup.
With his 13th individual gold medal, Phelps broke a 2168 year old Olympic Record, set by Leonidas of Rhodes, who had held the most Olympic Individual titles of all time, with twelve.
The highest of Hanif's Test centuries was a famous 337 made against West Indies in a six-day test at Bridgetown in 1957/58. It remains the longest innings in Test history.
Rahimov had to lift 214kg to win, 4kg more than China’s Lu Xiaojun clean and jerk world record, which he set at the 2013 World Weightlifting Championships. Lu took the silver at 379kg and Mohamed Ihab of Egypt claimed the bronze.
United States’ Joshua Prenot won the silver in the 200-meter breaststroke and Anton Chupkov of Russia finished third, securing the bronze.
Japan's Shohei Ono restored the pride of Judo's birth country by winning first Gold in 73kg category. Japanese men's team had not claimed Olympic gold since 2008 in Beijing.
On 9 August 2016, Phelps won his 21st gold medal in the 4 × 200 m freestyle relay together with Conor Dwyer, Townley Haas and Ryan Lochte.
Ledecky clocked 3 minutes 56.46 seconds to beat Britain's Jazmin Carlin who clocked 4 minutes 01.23 seconds at the Olympic Aquatics Stadium, Rio de Janeiro. America's Leah Smith clocked 4 minutes 01.92 seconds to grab the bronze.
In October 2009, the IOC voted at its session in Copenhagen to include the sevens version of the sport in the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro. The 2016 Summer Olympics marks the debut for rugby sevens at the Summer Olympics, though rugby union was last played at the 1924 Summer Olympics.
Four member panel headed by Justice (retd) Markandey Katju was by BCCI to advice on SC verdict on implementation of Justice Lodha committee recommendations.
The 22-year-old Tripura-girl qualified for the final round in the Individual vault final of artistic gymnastics after finishing eighth on the standings.
Indian contingent (95th country to enter the stadium) was led by its only individual gold medallist Abhinav Bindra as the flag bearer.
The Organising Committee for the Tokyo 2020 Games proposed the five new sports in response to the new flexibility provided by Olympic Agenda 2020.
52-year-old Nita is the only current active individual member of the IOC from India and she will serve at the high-profile world body until she attains the age of 70.
Reports say fate of the 26-year-old grappler still lies in the hands of the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA), which will take decision whether he is eligible to take part in the Olympic.
Angela Ruggiero is a former ice hockey player who has played more games for Team USA than any other man or woman. She is the current Vice-Chair of the IOC Athletes’ Commission.
Goel also launched Digital Campaign for general public to wish Indian Olympic Contingent for the Rio Games. He also urged the people to visit India Gate to sign their wishes at the Wall to cheer the Indian players.
NADA found that the wrestler is a victim of sabotage done by a competitor and thus deserves the benefit of article 10.4 of the NADA’s anti-doping code.
The men's competition is a Masters 1000 event on the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) tour. The women's competition is a Premier 5 tournament on the Women's Tennis Association (WTA) tour.
With this win, Patna Pirates became the only team to lift the trophy twice in the tournament’s history of four editions. The Puneri Paltan was placed at the third place in the edition after they defeated Telugu Titans by 40-35 score.
The 2016 German Grand Prix turned out to be fourth consecutive win for Hamilton. The previous three are 2016 Hungarian Grand Prix, 2016 British Grand Prix and 2016 Austrian Grand Prix.
Nayeemuddin was chosen for the prestigious award for his overall contribution to the club and the country both as a player and as a coach. The former India captain became the 16th recipient of the prestigious award.
The participants of the tournament include India, USA, Canada, UK, Australia, Iran, Poland, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Korea, Japan and Kenya.
With the announcement, off-spinner Muralitharan becomes the first Sri Lankan player to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.  The four iconic cricketers were voted by the ICC Cricket Hall of Famers as well as members of the media.


  1. Indeed our nation is progressing in the field of sports...amazing!!

  2. Indeed our nation is progressing in the field of sports...amazing!!

  3. Great site for these post and i am seeing the most of contents have useful for my Carrier.Thanks to such a useful information.Any information are commands like to share him.

    Digital marketing Course in Chennai

  4. Great Article it its really informative and innovative keep us posted with new updates. its was really valuable. thanks a lot.orologi replica very good.


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog



Aqua Regia- Delhi City Finals